News from the Tennessee Valley Living Today
THURSDAY, JUNE 7, 2007
LIVING TODAY | HOME | ARCHIVES | COLUMNS

clue1.jpg - 19471 Bytes

Get a Clue!
Decatur library summer activities

Sign up to “Get a Clue” during the summer reading program at Decatur Public Library, where activities full of mystery, suspense and a bit of magic are planned through July.

Coupons will be awarded to children each time they read 350 pages (younger children may participate by having someone read to them). Local merchants donated coupons for ice cream, hamburgers, fries and more.

Clip out this schedule of activities for all ages in Decatur (or check with the library closest to you if you live in Hartselle, Eva, Falkville, Lawrence or Limestone counties or elsewhere):

Rhyme Time: 10 a.m. each Wednesday through July 25, with songs, poems and activities for ages 3 and under

Rock with the band: 6 p.m. Friday, June 8, in the library (see related story)

Exotic birds: 10 a.m. Monday, June 11, with birds from the Nature Chest

Puppet show: “Case of the Disappearing Books,” Thursday, June 14, at 10 a.m. and 3 p.m.

Severe weather simulation station: Monday, June 18, at 10 a.m., with the Decatur Fire Department

Safety first: Wednesday, June 20 at 1 p.m., with Decatur City Police talking about staying safe

Mystery drama workshop: Friday, June 22, at 10 a.m. the Children’s Educational Theater will involve those age 7 up in a drama workshop

Native wildlife: Monday, June 25 at 10 a.m., with Wheeler National Wildlife Refuge’s Daphne Moland and others bringing animals

Science fiction and more: Thursday, June 28, at 6:30 p.m. Travis Taylor, who has written several science fiction books, will tell teens and adults about his work with the space program and his writing

Secret messages: Friday, June 29, at 10 a.m. ages 6 and up will conduct science experiments

Puppet show: “Detective on the Case,” Monday, July 2, at 10 a.m. and 3 p.m.

Mystery Scavenger Hunt: Tuesday, July 10, ages 5 and up

Magic show: Thursday, July 12, at 10 a.m., with magic by Skip Cain

Fire truck and safety visit: Monday, July 16, 10 a.m.

The Magic of Harry Potter: Thursday, July 19, at 10 a.m. with James Loyd

Harry Potter book release party: Friday, July 20, 10 p.m. to midnight, $5

Wet and wild: Monday, July 23, 10 a.m., wear swimsuits to Delano Park

Fingerprint fun: Wednesday, July 25 at 1 p.m. with Decatur City Police, ages 5 and up

Closing party and reading prizes: Friday, July 27, 10 a.m.

For more info

Decatur Public Library hours are Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday, 9 a.m. to 9 p.m.; Thursday, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Friday and Saturday, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.; and Sunday, 2 to 5 p.m.

For information, call 353-2993 (press 4 for children’s department) or check the Web site, www.decatur
.lib.al.us
.

Save $84.50 a year off our newsstand price:
Subscribe today for only 38 cents a day!

Leave feedback
on this or
another
story.

Email This Page



  www.decaturdaily.com