News from the Tennessee Valley Living Today
SUNDAY, MAY 1, 2005

Cathy D. Wahl

City declares cows in Decatur are safe

From the archives of THE DECATUR DAILY:

75 Years Ago

May 1-7, 1930

"Cows Safe!" reported THE DECATUR DAILY in 1930.

Despite rumors, the DAILY assured readers that the Decatur City Council was not contemplating an ordinance banning cows from the city.

With the 1930 census almost complete, THE DECATUR DAILY published some comparisons with a similarly sized Alabama city, Dothan. The Dothan Eagle printed the comparisons and added comments.

"Dothan has a more attractive business section," the DAILY ceded, "Decatur has industry. Dothan has a farming section that is nearer to . . . perfection in diversification. Decatur has a farming section that is in cultivation to a greater degree. Dothan and Decatur have folks interested in town growth even if such growth costs money."

The Dothan Eagle responded: ". . . Decatur has more miles of paved streets than Dothan. Decatur has two fire stations while one station attempts to serve ... Decatur has no athletic stadium, while with the $50,000 Wiregrass Memorial Stadium, Dothan is in a position to bid for college football games ..."

THE DAILY concluded, "Neither Decatur nor Dothan may fear for the future with the citizenship looking beyond the horizon of three hot meals a day."

The mother of one casualty of The World War will visit her son's grave in France thanks to a government program. Acquilla Turner was the first Gold Star mother from Decatur to apply for a passport to sail to France.

50 Years Ago

May 1-7, 1955

Charles Minton, sales engineer with the City Electric Department, took office as president of the Decatur Jaycees. Other officers include Jim Snider, Marcel Sheats, Claude McBride, Billy Steed, Tidwell Semmes, Leonard Hutson and Bill Lee. Meredith Woodall won the first Life Membership Award.

Local attorney LeRoy McEntire Jr. is president of the Decatur Lions Club, succeeding Paul Robinson. Other officers are Allison Smith, Tim Lyons, James Roberts, Russell A. Humphrey, James Edwards, U.H. Hassell, J.C. Howell, William S. Day, Ed Frazier, R.B. Freeman, R.L. MacGregor, Allen Rooks, Hulond Ryan, William G. Stone and Ben Williamson.

Meredith Woodall is new president of the Decatur Civitan Club. Other new officers are Tom Hamilton, Jewett Filler, Paul Blackwell, Ed Tubbs, Rae Herndon, W.H. Woodard, Cole Downing and John Short.

Athens College edged St. Bernard 3-2 in a storybook finish. With the score tied 2-2 in the bottom of the ninth, Alvin Smith laced a double into center field. After Simmons and Leonard had popped out to short, St. Bernard called its outfielders in close to catch any Texas Leaguers. Bobby Morris then walked to the plate and lined a single into left field, scoring Smith with the winning run. Bobby Crafts and Buford Eubanks also had hits.

Lawrence County High School baseball team is the county championship team. Teammates included Wyckoff Terry, Arthur Warren Sanderson, Billy Rains, Kenneth Myers, Willard Stover, Danny Young, Billy Warren Shelton, Bobby Henderson, Royce Wade, Kenneth Long, Jackie Shelton, Eddie Lethcoe, O.D. Bowling, Arnold Coffee and Coy Livingston. Lewis Watkins coaches.

Children in Mrs. B.F. Teal's Somerville Road kindergarten enjoyed a spring party complete with May Pole. Romping youngsters included Rita Dollar, Mary Dudley Hays, Chi Chi Summers, Nela Hudson, Margaret Diseker, Marsha Lovelace, Kaarene Lovelace, James Gary Dickerson, David Jones, Doyce Yates, Bobby Clark, Mary Lee Berryhill, George Jones, Ashley Holland, Wesley Holland, Riga Galloway, Drew Taylor, Ricky Smith, Charlotte Marie Joseph, Billy Paul Hutson, Sammy Mosley, Tauter Bailey, Cathy Cole, Billy Parks, Denny Owens, Matthew Powers, John Parker, Jeanette Murphy, Linda Jenkins, Marisa Jones, Arthur Calix, Dennis Rogers and Carol Trimble.

Decatur High School named Joe Hardin Jr. valedictorian and Jo Ann Short salutatorian.

25 Years Ago

April 27-May 3, 1980

Debbie McMunn is Athens State College May Queen. She is a senior from Athens. Her court includes Susan McDow, a junior from Athens.

The St. John's Boy Choir entertained the Decatur Music Club. Margaret Bacon directs the group, which includes Wade Crowe, John Guthrie, Brandon Browning, Todd Waller, Michael Braddock, David Sparks, Keith Haney, Rob Sparks, Chris Sansing, Blake Waller and Peter Carulo.

With only Councilman Jack Allen voting "no," Decatur City Council members Arthur Faulkner, Max Patterson, Ray Nixon and Dorothy Schwuchow voted to impose a permanent 1-cent sales tax to aid financially strapped schools and the city's general fund.

Sponsored by Monsanto Textiles Co., Monjaco won the "Company of the Year" trophy during Junior Achievement's annual banquet. Company members include Glenn Keesee, Steve Goddard, Laquinn Barber, Leree McCaig, Cindy Goddard and Janet Dean.

Two new breeds of azaleas are the Pointe Mallard Estates and the Count Mallard, both developed by Mr. and Mrs. A.J. Boike of Decatur.

Brewer Vocational and High School students won the statewide Skill Olympics competition sponsored by the Vocational Industrial Clubs of America. Teammates are Greg Clark, Richard Creel, Jeff Halbrooks, Elizabeth Jones, Orvil Landers, Peri King, Victor Lemmond, Kenneth Tilley, Jeff Dufey, Chris Swader and Scott Alexander. Jimmy Tilley is instructor.

10 Years Ago

April 30-May 6, 1995

Calhoun Community College named its top students for 1995 at a reception. They are Sherri Bell, William Conway III, Heather Davis, Geneva Nicole "Nikki" Eddy, Cindy Holsclaw, Kecia Lee, Lei-Leni Parks, Taira Riddick, Corey Wayne Scott, Arica Taylor and Sandra Thigpen.

Boss Hill's annual goat stew day began about 15 years ago with "just a few guys getting together and cooking." On Wednesday, 400 people gathered in Hill's front yard in Elkmont to eat stew and meet politicians.

Stillman College chemistry major Tracey A. Gibson, 22, won $200,000 in scholarships to earn her Ph.D. in organic chemistry at Notre Dame University. She is a native of North Courtland and valedictorian of Courtland High School's Class of 1992.

by Cathy D. Wahl

THE DECATUR DAILY welcomes the loan of any photos depicting people, places and events from Lawrence, Limestone and Morgan counties for each Sunday's "Valley of Years Past'' column. Photos will be returned. Contact the Living Today department at 353-4612, or Cathy D. Wahl at 350-6983 or

Cathy D. Wahl Cathy D. Wahl
DAILY Staff Writer

Leave feedback
on this or