News from the Tennessee Valley Living Today
SUNDAY, MAY 22, 2005

Cathy D. Wahl

‘Automobile laundry’ opens on Bank Street

75 Years Ago

May 22-27, 1930

M.V. Steadman, well known Decatur resident, has leased quarters and washing equipment in Hill's U-Drive-It garage on Bank Street and has opened a modern and up-to-date "automobile laundry" there. Steadman has many friends here who predicted much success for him in his new venture.

Three Mount Hope grade-school students won gold coins for school achievements. Winners were Charlie Dee Campbell, his brother Utah Campbell, and Reba Johnson.

50 Years Ago

May 22-27, 1955

Elizabeth Sivley and James Hurst will represent Decatur High School at Boys and Girls State, sponsored by the American Legion and the American Legion Auxiliary. Sivley and Hurst, both juniors, and others were nominated by the student body and chosen by the faculty.

Work on a public park on approximately 85 acres leased by TVA to Limestone County is progressing satisfactorily, says Frank P. Turner, chairman of the county park and recreation board.

Construction of drives, leveling of areas for parking and gradual sloping of part of the property along Lucy's Branch is under way, adds Turner.

Morgan Countians visited the bloodmobile here and helped put the county over its regular quota for the first time since April 1952. Giving the pint that met the 130-pint quota was E.C. Grantland of Decatur. Pint No. 131 was given by William K. Carter. The Decatur Junior Chamber of Commerce sponsored the bloodmobile.

Athens Junior Chamber of Commerce elected Dr. W.S. Pennington to succeed Charles Spencer Jr. as club president.

First vice president is Jack Nelson and second vice president is Ed House. Other new officers are Rudolph Cox, treasurer; Wayne B. Jennings, secretary; Dr. Stanley Hand, Maurice Moats and John Kubuflix, new directors.

The Tennessee Valley Horse Show, sponsored annually by The Lions Club of Decatur, will be Thursday. Profits go toward sight conservation and other charity activities. Horse Show Committee members are Guy Walker, Hulond Ryan, B.G. Ryan, Ed Frazier, Harold Watkins, W.W. Dinsmore, H.R. Sherrow, R.B. Freeman, Ned Frazier, Allison Smith, William Stone, Paul Robson, LeRoy McEntire and Sam Wheat.

Scheduled to graduate from the U.S. Naval Academy are Roy B. Freeman of Decatur and John R. Camp of Cullman. Freeman is a graduate of Decatur High School and entered the academy in 1951 after serving as corporal in the U.S. Army. Camp is a graduate of Cullman High School and entered the academy on a congressional appointment from Alabama in July 1951.

25 Years Ago

May 17-22, 1980

Department heads at Parkway Medical Center received eight awards at a national quality assurance awards convention. They are Jane Lynn, medical records; Joan Syler, nursing and intensive care unit; Mary Brown, food service; Don Woodhull, business office; A.D. Janzen, environmental services; Gordon Hollingsworth, radiology; Shirley Johnson, surgery; and Tom Shepherd, center administrator.

Decatur General Hospital volunteers presented the surgery department with a new laparoscopy set to be used by general surgeons and obstetricians-gynecologists. The equipment was purchased with $3,200 raised by volunteers through newborn baby picture sales.

Austin High School student Rebecca Weir was selected by Austinville Lions Club to participate in the Lion All-State Band. It will march in a parade in Chicago when the Lions meet there in July for the international convention.

Decatur Elks Lodge selected Howard Hendrix Jr. of Austin High School and Jacquelyn F. Atkins of Decatur High School as Teen-agers of the Year. Both received a plaque and $100 savings bond.

Members of the West Morgan High School Chapter of the Future Farmers of America were awarded several top district honors at the FFA annual banquet.

Awards were given to:

Dairy Competition: Chris Martin, Jack Lamon, Ricky Shelton, Jeff Gilhiam and Jimmy Chenault.

String Band: Von Jones, Leisha Terry, Scotty Terry, Tim Terry and Jesse Wallace.

Quartet: Greg Stephens, Teresa Stockton, Jeff Harris and Mike Lowery.

Outstanding First Year: Robert Turner.

Highest Grade in Vocational-Technical training: Tie between Chris Martin and Andy Williams.

The FFA chapter livestock team won a first prize in Morgan County competition. Members are Jeff Brown, Brian Glenn, John Edmonds and Lane Cheatham.

The power mechanics team placed fourth in the North Alabama. Team members are Randall Terry, Justin Wallace, Ronnie Harris and Ladd Cavner.

Decatur General Hospital employees were honored during the National Hospital Week. Third shift employees were given an early morning breakfast. Country cooking and country and bluegrass entertainment were presented in the afternoon. Service pins and special awards were given at both functions.

Former Gov. Albert P. Brewer was honored at Albert P. Brewer High School and Area Vocational School. His portrait was unveiled in the school's main concourse. First State Bank President Dalton Guthrie presented a portrait of Brewer.

All segments of law enforcement, local and national, displayed tools of their trade at Beltline Mall during National Law Enforcement Week.

10 Years Ago

May 20-26, 1995

Jason Roger Houston of Town Creek has been selected to participate in a pre-medical primary care internship at the School of Primary Medical Care, University of Alabama School of Medicine, Huntsville program.

The United States Achievement Academy has announced that Autumn Smith, a student at Lawrence County High School, has been named a
United States national award winner in science.

Votive candles in ceramic seashells and bundles of gold-wrapped chocolates carried out Beta Sigma Phi sorority's 1995 theme of "Light the Way" at Xi Beta Omicron's recent Founders Day dinner.

Members singled out their most outstanding women. Diane Newberry won the president's award. President Betty Howell was named Woman of the Year. Pledge of the Year was Connie Hall and Marcia Bridgford was Valentine Queen.

Christopher Beasley is valedictorian and Troy Covington is salutatorian at Athens High School.

Cindy Morehead, a licensed landscape designer, was presented the National Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution Conservation Award for her contributions to Decatur.

Morehead is recycling coordinator for the city-county Public Works Department and has formulated and activated eight areawide collection and recycling programs.

— Compiled by Mary Lott

Submit photos for Valley of the Past to Mary Lott. Call 340-2449. Photos will be returned.

Cathy D. Wahl Cathy D. Wahl
DAILY Staff Writer

Leave feedback
on this or