News from the Tennessee Valley Living Today

Mary Lott

Hartselle Civitan award winners at the organization's 1971-72 annual meeting in Cullman. With their awards for outstanding community and club service are, from left, Tom Bennich, 'Civitan of the Year'; the Rev. W.P. Maxwell, 'Outstanding Citizen of the Year'; Bill Grisham, 'Outstanding Community Service'; and Mayor John D. Long, 'Certificate of Appreciation.'
Courtesy Photo
Hartselle Civitan award winners at the organization's 1971-72 annual meeting in Cullman. With their awards for outstanding community and club service are, from left, Tom Bennich, "Civitan of the Year"; the Rev. W.P. Maxwell, "Outstanding Citizen of the Year"; Bill Grisham, "Outstanding Community Service"; and Mayor John D. Long, "Certificate of Appreciation."

Waterway development on Kiwanis agenda

75 Years Ago

Oct. 15-21, 1930

John A. Harris, field director of the Mississippi Valley Association, will be principal speaker at the meeting of the Kiwanis Club on Thursday to discuss the importance of waterway development in the South.

The following from the Decatur chapter will attend the state convention of the W.C.T.U. in Florence: Mary Black, state corresponding secretary; Ellen Groenendyke, Ruby L. Carswell, Mrs. John Howard, Mrs. W.H. Winton, Mrs. J.F. Lovin, Mrs. J.N. Gibson, Mrs. C.K. Lide, Mrs. S.B. Rose, Mrs. E.M. Odom, Mrs. R.E. Wardlow, Kitty Prewett.

50 Years Ago

Oct. 15-21, 1955

Two Falkville residents, Airman 3rd Class William Jack McCaig and Airman 3rd Class Billy Von Mason have completed the basic training at Lackland Air Force Base in San Antonio, Texas.

Approximately 200 Lawrence County Home Demonstration Club women are expected to gather Saturday for the annual Achievement Day program.

Mrs. Ralph Walker, county council president, will conduct the opening session at the Star Theater.

The emphasis during the events of the day will be Civil Defense.

Hartselle stepped up the Morgan County United Fund appeal today with a partial report of $1,204.50, which Hartselle Chairman Jack Hoffhaus estimated to be about 25 percent complete.

In the Hartselle report there were three firms with 100 percent participation for all employees giving one day's pay. They are the Morgan County Exchange (Hartselle and Decatur), Peoples Drug Store and C.W.H. Stewart store.

Jo Griffin, an Athens College freshman, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. W.U. Griffin of Somerville, is the 1955-56 Athens College Founders Queen.

25 Years Ago

Oct. 15-21, 1980

Jo Lynn Burks of Decatur, a junior in New College majoring in performing arts at The University of Alabama, is one of 10 finalists for homecoming queen.

Mervin Markley of Decatur will exhibit acrylics and watercolors at Webb School's fourth annual Arts and Crafts festival in Bell Buckle, Tenn.

Representatives of the clubs that won awards at the annual achievement luncheon of the Morgan County Homemakers Clubs are Mrs. W.E. Smith, first place in scrapbooks; Mrs. Emmett Roan, second place in scrapbooks; Suzanne Randolph, third place in attendance; Mrs. J.L. Truss, first place in number of members attending; and Elizabeth Wood, first place in percentage attending.

10 Years Ago

Oct. 15-21, 1995

Four families sold more than $1,000 each in candy, gift wrap and Christmas gift items during the fall fund-raiser for Decatur Heritage Christian Academy. The profits will be used to enhance school libraries, computer labs, science labs, classroom supplies, and athletic and cheerleading programs.

Top winners are Steven and Emily Leach, first place; Elizabeth Gebhart, second place, Seth and Clay Austin, third place; and Holly Grace Austin, fourth place.

Anna Shirey, a senior international studies and economics major from Decatur, has been elected secretary for the Omicron Delta Epsilon Chapter, an international honor society in economics, at Berry College in Mount Berry, Ga.

Four Decatur police officers were honored by city officials after pulling James Shackleford from his burning home.

The third-shift officers were Michael Cowart, George Silvestri, William Wallace and Thomas Little.

Theresa S. Chandler of Priceville was recently named executive director of the Alabama State Board of Veterinary Medicine.

Mary Lott Mary Lott
DAILY Staff Writer

Leave feedback
on this or

Email This Page