News from the Tennessee Valley Living Today

Mary Lott

Nine Decatur High School students were named student of the month for each of the nine school months in this photo from May 1967. They are, front row, from left, Jody Duncan, Darlene Mathews, Kathy Sellers, Paula Summers and Susanne Arkin; and back row, from left, Steve Hammond, Larry Sparks, Don Franks and Bob Clark.
DAILY Photo by Dee Bauer
Nine Decatur High School students were named student of the month for each of the nine school months in this photo from May 1967. They are, front row, from left, Jody Duncan, Darlene Mathews, Kathy Sellers, Paula Summers and Susanne Arkin; and back row, from left, Steve Hammond, Larry Sparks, Don Franks and Bob Clark.

W.S. Sherrill promoted to major

75 Years Ago

Jan. 15-22, 1931

A.E. McClanahan has been elected as chancellor commander of Pythagoras Lodge No. 199, Knights of Pythias. Other officers are Jimmie S. Edwards, vice chancellor commander; A. Stephenson, prelate; W.M. Puryear, keeper of records and seal; S.M. Nelson, master of work; W.V. Pattillo, master of exchequer; Clay D. Speegle, master of finance; Harold Parker, master at arms, A.C. McClanahan, inner guard; W.T. Stewart, outer guard.

Athens attorney W.S. Sherrill received a commission from the president of the United States, promoting him from captain to major in the Judge Advocate General's Department of the Army Reserves.

Mrs. Wilbur Hull of Tanner has been appointed district chairman of home demonstration work and rural cooperation for the Alabama Federation of Home Demonstration Clubs.

She also is director of the North Alabama district in the Alabama Council of Home Demonstration Clubs.

John Patterson and Tennis Tidwell, Morgan County representatives in the Alabama Legislature, fared well in committee appointments announced by Speaker of the House Alf Tunstall. Patterson is a member of the rules committee, chairman of the public health committee and a member of the local legislation, insurance, public printing and revision of journal and roads committees.

Tidwell is a chairman of the judiciary committee and is a member of civil laws, ways and means, commerce and common carriers, corporations and municipal organization.

50 Years Ago

Jan. 15-22, 1956

Pfc. James C. Phillips, son of Mr. and Mrs. Herman Phillips of Decatur has received a letter of commendation from the commanding officer, U.S. Army recruiting main station in Montgomery. Commendation was presented for excellence as an airborne soldier, representation of the Army in military dress and for appearance and conduct. Phillips is stationed with the 11th Airborne Division in Fort Campbell, Ky.

Five Decaturites were re-elected officers of the Alabama Archaeological Society at the annual meeting of the organization.

They are Frank J. Soday, president; James W. Cambron, second vice president; Samuel A. Mosley, secretary; Garnett L. Wade, treasurer; and Alfred B. Craig, editor.

The Betty Crocker Homemaker of Tomorrow of Decatur High School is Suzanne McBride. She received the highest score in a written examination, which tested the homemaking knowledge and attitudes of senior girls. She will be the state's candidate for the All-American Homemaker of Tomorrow.

McBride received a golden award pin designed by Trifari. Her school will receive a "Betty Crocker Good and Easy Cook Book."

Alabama's FFA corn judging champions are members of the Tanner FFA chapter in Limestone County. They are Norman Chittam, John Hill, Bill Stewart, Robert Evans and M.L. Stancil, vocational agriculture teacher at Tanner.

25 Years Ago

Jan. 15-22, 1981

Pied Pipers Company II, a children's dramatic group from Freed-Hardeman College in Henderson, Tenn., will perform Friday at Hartselle's Sparkman Civic Center.

Blue Bell Inc. has named Bobby Lee Shelton, owner of Shelton Grocery and Clothing Store on Alabama 24, merchant of the year for the mid-South region.

He will be honored during a banquet Monday at Decatur Holiday Inn, announced Luther Harrell, Blue Bell sales representative for North Alabama.

Brenda Taylor has been promoted to assistant branch manager of the Decatur office of Guaranty Savings and Loan Association, announced by Wayne Lewis, manager of the financial institution.

Jason Carter of Decatur won a set of Tell Me Why books for submitting a riddle that was used in the column. He is the 10-year-old son of Mr. and Mrs. Jackie D. Carter.

Todd Kinard of Decatur and Sharon Riggs of Hartselle have won their second straight state crown in a roller dancing competition sponsored by
the Roller Skating Rinks of America.

The couple will compete in regional competitions in the next step toward a national title.

New officers of Decatur Art Guild are Mary Berry, president; Henrietta Balch, first vice president; and Carolyn Shindlebower, recording secretary.

Hartselle is one of the few local schools that sponsors a wrestling team. The Tigers are fresh off a win over East Lawrence.

Team members are Jon Gamel, Alan Dobbs, Stanley Elliott, Randy Huise, Eric Morris, Bruyne Rollins, J.R. Roberts, Bill Smith, Mark Costanza, Dale Golden, John Crow, Gary McAbee, Richard McCay, David Haley, Jeff Harris, coach John Cochran, Bobby Phillips, Jeff Marcham, Bryan Hulse and manager Danny Ball.

10 Years Ago

Jan. 15-22, 1996

The Civitan Club of Decatur and Junior League of Morgan County contributed $25,000 to Helping Adolescents in Need of Supervision.

Rep. Bill Dukes, D-Decatur, spoke at the Alabama Democratic Conference's Martin Luther King Jr. luncheon Monday at Amberley Suites Hotel in Decatur.

Athens State College forward Richard Eaton has been named the Southern States Conference Player of the Week.

Eaton helped the Bears to two road wins at West Alabama and Selma University. He made 16 of 20 shots in the two games for an 80 percent clip and pulled down 16 rebounds. He also had six steals.

J.C. Penney Co. and Volunteer Center of Morgan County kicked off the annual Golden Rule Awards program Tuesday in Decatur. Volunteer Chairwoman Betty Gottler, Felicia Williams of the judges' panel and J.C. Penney store manager Janice Dunn were among those at the event.

Four Golden Rule Awards will be awarded this year in adult, youth, group and educational divisions. The award includes a $1,000 grant to the volunteer organization served by a winner and $250 grants for the organizations of five finalists.

Ferman Elmore, a former coach at Athens High School, is among the new inductees to the Alabama High School Sports Hall of Fame.

Elmore compiled a 67-29-7 record in coaching football for 11 years at Athens. He also coached six years at Dothan, where his record was 32-22-5.

He served seven years as athletic director and assistant principal at Butler High School and was instrumental in the organization of the Tennessee Valley Conference.

Mary Lott Mary Lott
DAILY Staff Writer

Leave feedback
on this or

Email This Page