News from the Tennessee Valley Living Today

Mary Lott

Athens High School cheerleaders in this photo from the 1960s are, from left, Kae Cooper, Frances Miller, Ann Britt, Nancy Shannon, Carolyn House, Faye Littrell, Judy Kennemer, Jayne Kirk and Sherryn Yockel.
Courtesy Photo
Athens High School cheerleaders in this photo from the 1960s are, from left, Kae Cooper, Frances Miller, Ann Britt, Nancy Shannon, Carolyn House, Faye Littrell, Judy Kennemer, Jayne Kirk and Sherryn Yockel.

Union student completes third perfect attendance

75 Years Ago

Jan. 1-7, 1931

Gilbert Dean, 11-year-old son of Mr. and Mrs. J.F. Dean, who attends school at Union, has completed his third year of perfect attendance.

Seybourne Lynne, prominent local attorney, spoke to Decatur Rotary Club on international relations.

Thomas T. Martin was elected captain and Joe Sarver Jr. alternate captain of the Athens High School football team at a banquet given in honor of the team.

Morgan County High School and Hartselle City schoolteachers will hit the court for a game of basketball sponsored by Business and Professional Women's Club.

Students of the two schools are expected to get a kick out of the contest. It is said that practically all the rules governing the game have been revised for this affair.

50 Years Ago

Jan. 1-7, 1956

Officers elected Jan. 25 by Decatur Shrine Club are Joe Elliot, president; Bill Lakey, first vice president; Zack Perry, second vice president; J.B. Harlow, secretary and treasurer; and Phil Mitchell, sergeant at arms. Members of the executive board are Frank Morgan, John Eugene Wright, R.S. Hicks, Leonard Terry and H.G. Looney.

Six appointments to positions within the design section of the general engineering department at The Chemstrand Corp. were announced by Carl O. Hoyer, director of engineering.

John C. Cole is employed as a senior engineer.

Robert E. Harris and J. Randall Hagewood are employed as draftsmen.

Ernest A. Heckler is transferred from the design section of the general-engineering department at the Chemstrand nylon plant in Pensacola, to Decatur as an instrument engineer.

Thomas N. Kennedy is employed as an engineer draftsman.

Jerry E. Robison is employed as a drafting trainee.

William Caughran has been named by the Limestone County chapter of the American Red Cross to act as chairman of the 1956 drive.

Harold Lovvorn was appointed to head the annual Easter Seal Sale drive sponsored by Alabama Society for Crippled Children and Adults and locally by Athens Rotary Club.

Mrs. G.L. Puckett is general county chairwoman of the society.

Winner of the 1956 oratorical contest in Morgan County sponsored by a Birmingham newspaper is Dorothy Johnson, a senior at Cotaco High School.

Three contestants were entered from the county, with the winning oration being on "Thomas Jefferson and The Declaration." Johnson, the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Howard Johnson of Somerville, is the secretary of the Cotaco senior class, a member of "The Cotacian" staff, Glee Club, Beta Club and the FHA.

Her sponsor in the contest was Edna Chandler.

25 Years Ago

Jan. 1-7, 1981

Morgan County United Way Chairman R.F. Crone Jr. presented Irvin Commander, Copeland Corp.'s manager of employee and community relations, with the Ira Lay memorial award signifying service to the United Way.

Ellen Furio of Decatur will compete in Montgomery tonight in the talent portion of preliminary competition for Alabama Junior Miss.

Furio will perform a piano medley of patriotic songs complemented by a monologue.

Three Morgan County residents have been selected to head a county fund-raising
drive for the 1981 diabetes

Named honorary chairman was Barrett C. Shelton Sr. of Decatur. Sue Roan of Hartselle and Rex Cheatham of Decatur were named co-chairmen.

The Rural Leadership Development Program, sponsored by Liberty National Life Insurance, the state Chamber of Commerce and the state Cooperative Extension Service has awarded Thornton "Dick" Fleming its leadership award. He is outgoing chairman of the Morgan County Commission. Bobby Runge, president of the county extension council, presented the award.

The award honors individuals who "exemplify effective community leadership and significant contributions to the development of programs that improve education, economic and social conditions."

10 Years Ago

Jan. 1-7, 1996

Morgan County Junior Miss Emily Baggett of Decatur was a Top 8 finalist in Saturday's Alabama Junior Miss program in Montgomery.

She received a $1,000 cash tuition scholarship to the college of her choice.

Baggett, a senior at Decatur High School and the daughter of Wayne and Peggy Baggett, made Alabama Junior Miss history by being the first contestant to play handbells during the creative and performing arts presentation.

Decatur Chamber of Commerce Commodores Ashton Dement and Cissy Pearson tour Comfort Suites Inn with manager Naren Sheth. The new model has opened next to Plum Tree Shopping Center on Beltline Road Southwest.

Omar Brown had 20 points, eight assists and five steals Thursday for Courtland in its 85-34 win over Athens Bible.

The Chiefs (15-4) rolled out a 24-5 lead in the opening quarter and never looked back.

Hispanic parents with children in Morgan County Schools are invited to hear Tery Medina, coordinator of the Southeastern Desegregation Assistance Center in Miami, on Sunday at Morgan County's board room.

Medina, a Cuban refugee, will talk to parents about cultural differences and answer questions.

The program is sponsored by the Morgan County Migrant Program, which serves Morgan County, Decatur and Hartselle schools.

Five local young people are recent winners of the 1996 Sir Thomas J. Lipton Sportsman Award.

The award, named in honor of the famed yachtsman and sports competitor, is presented annually to the Boys and Girls Clubs of Morgan County members who display outstanding sportsmanship and fair play in all club activities.

The five local winners received a trophy at the Boys and Girls Clubs annual meeting. They are Tanesha Carlisle of the Third Street Unit, Josh Jackson of the Eva Sterrs Unit, Michael Cook of the Beech Street Unit, Shenicka Garrett of the Sixth Street Unit, Willie Mitchell of the Hartselle Unit.

"All five young people receiving this award from the Boys and Girls Clubs of Morgan County have been positive role models in their club," said Mike Anderson, executive director.

Mary Lott Mary Lott
DAILY Staff Writer

Leave feedback
on this or

Email This Page