News from the Tennessee Valley Living Today

Mary Lott

Decatur High School cheerleaders in a photo from 1953.
Courtesy Photo
Decatur High School cheerleaders in a photo from 1953.

Dr. Wyatt named American College of Physicians fellow

75 Years Ago

March 27-April 2, 1931

Dr. Walter Simrell Wyatt of Lexington, Ky., formerly of Decatur, was one of 367 physicians in America to be made fellows by the American College of Physicians. He is the son of Mr. and Mrs. L.B. Wyatt of Decatur and a graduate of The University of Alabama.

Mrs. Earl Calvin's dance students will perform a "Dancing Movements" show at Princess Theatre. They are Lillian Houser, 5, tap; Baby Bess Beatty, 7, acrobat and ballet; Bobby Peterson, 4, tap; Virginia Prince Calvin, 7, musical reading; Margaret Ann Rogers, 11, and Ruth Frazier, 10, double ballet; and Bobby Peterson, 4, and Houser, 5, double tap number.

50 Years Ago

March 27-April 2, 1956

A new six-man Decatur Country Club board of directors was elected. They are Dr. O.B. Evans, Dr. R.H. Evans, Thornton Fleming, John Powers, Rex Rankin and Quince Eddens.

Audra Standridge and Gail Dixon will operate the new Necchi-Elna Sewing Center on Ferry Street. Standridge is franchise dealer and Dixon is sales manager.

Ronnie Winton of Cotaco High School was declared winner at a spelling bee sponsored by Birmingham Post-Herald for Morgan County and Decatur City schools at Eva High School.

Winton is an eighth-grader at Cotaco. He won the spelling bee in 1954 and was runner-up in 1955. He will compete in the state finals in Birmingham.

Kenneth Owens was selected FHA Beau and Betty Sue Williams was selected FFA Sweetheart at the annual FFA-FHA banquet in Danville.

25 Years Ago

March 27-April 2, 1981

River City Kiwanis Club is conducting a print sale to help send members of the Austin High Math Team to a national competition in Los Angeles. The prints of The Old State Bank are available at local banks and from Kiwanis Club members.

Mrs. Elva Frazier donated a portable color television to the diabetes bike-a-thon. It will be given to the person who raises the most money by completing miles in Saturday's bike-a-thon. Event honorary chairman for Morgan County is Barrett Shelton, co-chairwoman is Sue Roan and prize chairman is Steve Shirley.

A 19-year-old Auburn University coed, Pamela Leah Love of Decatur, was crowned 1981 Alabama Maid of Cotton.

Love, a fashion merchandising and business major, was chosen from about 20 other contestants in the pageant.

State Trooper Donald Livingston has been selected Law Enforcement Officer of the Year for Morgan County by the local VFW. He has been stationed at local State Trooper Post 52 longer than any trooper currently at the post.

10 Years Ago

March 27-April 2, 1996

Harry Moody of Lawrence County was recently promoted to lieutenant colonel in the U.S. Army Reserve's 87th division, first brigade.

He is a graduate of Decatur High School, Samford University, New Orleans Baptist Seminary and the U.S. Army Command and General Staff College.

Allison Marie Lee, a senior at Randolph School in Huntsville, was named a National Merit Finalist. She is the daughter of Ramsey and Donna Huffman of Decatur and Dr. Franklin C. Lee of Charleston, S.C. She plans to attend Vassar College in Poughkeepsie, N.Y.

Lawrence County Exchange received the silver award for outstanding sales achievement from T-L Irrigation Co. T-L Irrigation is celebrating its 40th year in the business. Each year it recognizes top dealers with bronze, silver and gold awards.

Patrick Reasonover, an eighth-grader at Priceville Junior High School, has qualified for the state level of the National Geography Bee at The University of North Alabama. He is the son of David and Ruby Reasonover.

Sandra Hyde, agent and owner of Farmers Insurance Group in Decatur, received the company's rookie of the year award.

The company, established in 1928, is the nation's third-largest auto and home insurer.

Martha H. Cain, an English teacher at Eva School and secondary teacher of the year for Morgan County Schools, has been selected as District 6 secondary finalist.

The field of candidates for the 1996-97 Alabama State Teacher of the Year has been narrowed to 16 educators — eight elementary and eight secondary.

— Compiled by Mary Lott

Mary Lott Mary Lott
DAILY Staff Writer

Leave feedback
on this or

Email This Page