News from the Tennessee Valley Living Today
SUNDAY, MAY 21, 2006

Mary Lott

Attending a holiday party at Decatur Country Club in this photo from about 1960 are, from left, E.S. and Margie Lloyd, C.H. and Audrey O’Brien, Robert and Dot Pettey, and Leo and Jane Rowe.
Courtesy Photo
Attending a holiday party at Decatur Country Club in this photo from about 1960 are, from left, E.S. and Margie Lloyd, C.H. and Audrey O’Brien, Robert and Dot Pettey, and Leo and Jane Rowe.

Cunningham Award winners announced

75 Years Ago
May 15-21, 1931

Winners of the Cunningham Award at Mount Hope School were Cecil Pickens, who ranked highest in attendance and his studies, and Eutaw Campbell, who earned the second award. The third award went to elementary student Reba Johnson. The late R.M. Cunningham, formerly of Mount Hope, established a fund for these awards in honor of his mother, the late Nancy Cunningham.

Morgan County High School Glee Club presented a recital under the direction of Helen Hill.

Joe Calvin, student at Riverside High School, was winner of the citizenship medal awarded annually by Sons of the American Revolution. Calvin, son of Mrs. J.H. Calvin, won the award for scholastic record in school and high standard of citizenship.

W.R. Spight, prominent Decatur citizen in church, education and business affairs, delivered the baccalaureate address to the graduating classes at Hazlewood High School at Town Creek.

50 Years Ago
May 15-21, 1956

Mrs. C.D. Cottingham, one time Decatur women's golf champion, was one of
five participants in a women's invitational golf tournament in Birmingham to shoot a 91 during the qualifying round at Birmingham Country Club. All scores up to 90 made the top 16. Women golfers from across the state participated.

J.O. Braswell became principal of Mount Hope High School. He has been basketball coach at Mount Hope since 1950 and is a graduate of Florence State Teachers College.

Anne Carrell was valedictorian and Janet Nungester was salutatorian at
Decatur High School.

Charlotte Pace, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Owen Pace, was installed as Worthy Adviser of the Order of the Rainbow for Girls in Decatur Assembly 26. She is a senior at Decatur High School and a member of the senior honor society, Tri-Hi-Y and the J.U.G. club.

25 Years Ago
May 15-21, 1981

Alpha Alpha Chapter of Beta Sigma Phi honored four members for their contributions during the year. Patsy Bruce and Karen Young received the
President's Award, Georgia Moultrie received the Program of the Year Award and Marilyn Weaver received Girl of the Year.

Diane Landtroop accepted the award for highest senior achievement from
Athens State College Academic Dean Jim Milner during an honors and awards convocation. Landtroop, employed at Redstone Arsenal 18 years before deciding to get her degree in business administration, had a 4.0 average in her two years at ASC.

10 Years Ago
May 15-21, 1996

AmSouth Bank gave a $10,000 grant to Morgan County Board of Education's
home school program "Family Friends/Amigos de Familia." The program provides
instructional materials for a mobile learning unit that visits preschoolers' homes.

The program serves students and families in Morgan County, Decatur and Hartselle school systems.

The University of North Alabama awarded a four-year academic scholarship to
April Smith, a senior at Brewer High School.

Scott Matthews, a junior at Birmingham-Southern College and the son of Mr. and Mrs. Turner Matthews of Decatur, was named sportsman of the year at the college.

Christopher Thomaskutty, a freshman, received the Alpha Tau Omega Bernard
Andrew Monaghan Best Pledge Award. He is the son of Mr. and Mrs. K.C.
of Somerville

Mary Lott Mary Lott
DAILY Staff Writer

Leave feedback
on this or

Email This Page