News from the Tennessee Valley Living Today
SUNDAY, MAY 20, 2007

Mary Lott

valley_05202007.jpg - 125818 Bytes
Courtesy photo
Decatur High School majorettes march past the old location of the Alabama Drug Store at Bank and Lafayette streets during a homecoming parade about 1968.

“D” Club inducts new members

75 years ago

May 14-20, 1932

Romeo Morin, Ed Hefner, Newt Hardy and J.W. Lanier were inducted into the “D” Club, which was a local high school athletic organization.

They were recognized at the Bee Line opening ceremony.

Local women organized the Martha and Mary Guild at St. John’s Church.

Mrs. J.I. Mitchell was elected president and Susan Beech Garren was secretary-treasurer.

Louise Jones of Fayetteville, Tenn., was queen at Athens College’s May Day. Frances Powers of Athens was Princess of May and Mary Athey of Manassas, Va., was elected Miss Athens College of 1932.

50 years ago

May 14-20, 1957

Decatur High School Parent-Teacher Association elected officers for the year.

They were John Wood, president; Mrs. James Wood, first vice president; Mrs. Horace Clemons, second vice president; Mrs. A.B. Craig, third vice president; Mrs. Norman Stiles, fourth vice president; Mrs. H.N. Peurifoy, secretary; Mrs. Jim Francis, treasurer; Mrs. Roy Hemminghaus, homeroom mothers chairwoman; Mrs. Robert Rice, yearbook chairwoman; Mrs. William Stone, record book chairwoman; Mrs. Thurmond Ashford, magazine chairwoman; Mrs. Avery Taylor, music chairwoman; and Mary Robertson, parliamentarian.

Floyd Briscoe became the principal of Riverside School.

Briscoe was a member of the National Education Association. He earned his bachelor’s degree in elementary education at Florence State Teachers College.

He had served as coach and teacher at Trinity, Falkville, Austinville and Decatur Junior High. He also was principal at Priceville High.

Kay Kennemer, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. M.S. Kennemer, was elected to Alpha Lamda Delta scholastic honor society at Birmingham-Southern College.

Kennemer, who was Athens High School valedictorian last year, was named to the dean’s honor roll twice.

The Legion Auxiliary of the John F. Thompson Post No. 52 chose Harriet Lee Block, daughter of Dr. and Mrs. W.H. Block of Hartselle, as the Hartselle Girls State representative.

Block was a student at Morgan County High School, where she was cheerleader and on the annual staff.

Martha Lou Gilbreath was valedictorian at Mount Hope High School. She was homecoming queen, vice president of Future Homemakers of America, vice president of Beta Club, Good Citizenship Girl, class favorite and a member of Future Teachers of America.

Salutatorian was Jane Elkins. She was reporter for the Beta Club, reporter for FHA, FFA Sweetheart, vice president of FTA and a member of the Glee Club.

Shelby Woodroof was valedictorian of Athens High School. During her academic career at Athens she was named DAR Good Citizenship Girl and served as co-editor of Aquila and as a representative to Girls State. She also was a cheerleader and a member of the Honor Society, the “A” Club, Scan-It and the Travel Club.

Judy Harlow was salutatorian. Harlow was a member of the Aquila staff, Scan-It, the Honor Society, the Travel Club, president of the junior class and representative to Girls State.

25 years ago

May 14-20, 1982

DeWane Shumate and Kathy Battles were awarded the top male and female athletic awards at the Brewer High School All-Sports Banquet. Shumate was a standout in football, basketball and baseball for the Patriots. Battles led the Lady Patriots in volleyball, basketball and track.

Tina Chairs, an Austin High School graduate, earned the most valuable player award for the University of Chattanooga women’s basketball team.

Chairs led the Lady Mocs in scoring with 17 points per game. She also pulled down 10 rebounds a game.

Ginger Barnes, one of the few female balloon pilots in the United States, flew the Decatur balloon for the Decatur Tourism Bureau.

“Because I’m a girl, people don’t believe I’m the pilot,” she said. “They see (my husband) Toby and ask if I’m helping him and don’t believe me when I tell them I’m the pilot.”

She said Toby was her chief crewman and goes with her when it is possible for him to be there.

As an employee of the Decatur Parks and Recreation Department, she became interested in piloting.

After her first flight in the Decatur balloon, she knew she wanted to be a pilot.

10 years ago

May 14-20, 1997

Aimee Self of Danville High School was named to the Morgan County All-Academic Team.

Self also was awarded the John Phillip Sousa Award as outstanding band student. She played the clarinet.

The Decatur Chamber of Commerce’s Business/Education Round Table selected its students of the year.

The elementary student of the year was Allen Ozier of Walter Jackson Elementary School. The middle school student of the year was Briana Chambers of Oak Park Middle School. Katie M. Hill of Decatur High School was the high school student of the year.

Mount Pisgah Baptist Church in Athens was honored for its work at a Soul-Winning Clinic in Longview, Texas. The church was recognized for being among the top 50 independent Baptist churches in the U.S. in baptisms, attendance, bus attendance and weekly evangelism. The Rev. Juaken Dumas was pastor.

Kathy Codding won the Spring Handicap golf tournament at Burningtree Country Club. Codding’s 128 total took honors.

In the first flight, Betty Byars won with a 148, while Suzie Wiley had a 150, Toshiko Fukada a 152 and Paula Oliver a 152.

In the second flight, Sue Bowers had a 139, Johanna Kearns a 141, Kate Hoppenjans a 141 and Sharon Hughes a 142.

In the third flight, Barbara Hamilton’s 132 was good enough for first place. Yvonne White carded a 134, Kay Tyler a 135 and Joan Coman a 135.


The Daily welcomes the loan of vintage photos of people, places and events in Morgan, Limestone and Lawrence counties for use in “Valley ofYears Past.”Please call Mary Lott at 340-2452 or e-mail her at Photos will be returned.

Mary Lott Mary Lott
DAILY Staff Writer

Leave feedback
on this or

Email This Page