News from the Tennessee Valley State, Local and National news

Hartselle narrows school board list to 3 candidates

By Deangelo McDaniel· 340-2469

HARTSELLE — City leaders here have narrowed the list of school board candidates to three and will discuss naming a finalist during Monday’s work session.

The council interviewed seven applicants last week and selected Bruyne Rollins, Dr. James Joy and Nicole Mashburn from the list.

The successful applicant will replace Greg Cain, who resigned after Morgan County voters elected him probate judge in November’s general election. The council appointed Cain to a five-year term on the Hartselle school board in June 2003.

His replacement will serve until June 2008. The council will make another appointment in June when Jennifer Sittason’s term ends.

Monday’s appointment will be this city administration’s fourth on the school board. It has appointed Sittason to serve the balance of Ronnie Abercrombie’s term and reappointed Kathy White Goodwin and Jeff Gray for second five-year terms.

Joy, a dentist, served one term on the board before the previous city administration replaced him with attorney Gray.

The three finalists said on their applications that they applied because they want to help continue Hartselle as one of the best school systems in the state.

That may be easy compared to the task of passing a 12.5-mill property tax increase for a new Hartselle High.

For more than a year, school officials have talked about the tax, which citizens will vote on sometime this year. School leaders know passing the tax is a tough challenge because voters have twice overwhelmingly opposed new taxes for schools.

Save $84.50 a year off our newsstand price:
Subscribe today for only 38 cents a day!

Leave feedback
on this or

Email This Page