News from the Tennessee Valley State, Local and National news

Education In Brief

Vanderbilt University

Russell Lee Brown of Elkmont has been accepted into Vanderbilt University Law School.

Brown will graduate from the Marriott School of Business at Brigham Young University in June and will begin law school in August. He is a graduate of Elkmont High School.

Brown is the son of Larry and Julie Brown of Elkmont. His grandparents are Estelle Hargrove Brown of Athens, Dr. and Mrs. J. Wayne Brannon, formerly of Decatur, the late James M. Brown and the late Dorothy W. Brannon.

Maryville deanís list

Matthew Warner, Katie Warner and Andrew Alfano, all of Decatur, have been named to the deanís list at Maryville College, Maryville, Tenn., for the 2006 fall term. To be eligible for the list, a student must maintain at least a 3.6 grade point average.

Anderson honors

Megan Chapman and Rachel Chapman, both of Decatur, have been named to the deanís list at Anderson University, Anderson, Ind., for the 2006 fall term. To be eligible for the list, a student must maintain at least a 3.5 grade point average.

MSU honors

These area students have been named to the presidentís and deanís lists at Mississippi State University, Starkville, for the 2006 fall term.

Presidentís list: Melanie Ament of Danville; Erica Cain, Christopher Campbell, Morgan Dodd, Brian Green, Barrett Kirsch, Karen Parks, Kyle Parks, Cory Zywno, all of Decatur; Clifton Rybick of Athens; Ashley Witherspoon of Hartselle.

Deanís list: Lindsay Califf, Anna Dahlem, William Dahlem, Jarrod Harney, Suzanne Stanley, all of Decatur; Kiersten Estes, Corey Holt, both of Hartselle

AHS announcements

The guidance office at Austin High School offers the following announcements. For more information on any notice, contact the high school.

Junior Statesmen Summer School: Summer program for students interested in politics and government.

See the guidance office for more information. Deadline is April 27.

Northwestern University School of Music: National High School Music Institute, June 24 through July 27. See Deadline is March 19, early decision; April 20, regular decision.

Earlham College: Explore College students in ninth, 10th and 11th grades; June 24 through July 7. E-mail: or call (800) 327-5426. Deadline is June 1.

Tall Clubs International: Kae Sumner Einfeldt Scholarship Award and the Rocket City Tall Club, Daniel Lundgren Scholarship Award. Eligible women must be at least 5 feet 10 inches tall and the men at least 6 feet 2 inches tall to enter. Package must be postmarked by March 31. Call Gordon M. Brown II at (256) 721-7538.

Educational Communications Scholarship Foundation: Deadline for this yearís awards is May 15. See or www.ecisf .org.

Department of the Army: U.S. Army Reserve National Scholar/Athlete Award Program. To be nominated for this award, see the guidance office.

NEACA: Scholarship. Deadline is April 15.

Kohlís: Kohlís Kids Who Care Recognition Program Deadline is March 15.

Joe Wheeler EMC: Electric Cooperative Foundation Scholarship. For senior students who are members of Joe Wheeler Electric Membership Corp. Deadline is March 16. See the guidance office for more information.

Save $84.50 a year off our newsstand price:
Subscribe today for only 38 cents a day!

Leave feedback
on this or

Email This Page