News from the Tennessee Valley State, Local and National news

Education In Brief

Kappa Delta Pi inductees

Johnny Berry, of Hartselle, and Kristy Black of Trinity have been inducted into The University of Alabamaís chapter of the Kappa Delta Pi International Honor Society in Education.

Berry is a guidance counselor and head coach of the boys basketball team at Hartselle High School. He is the son of John and Betty Berry of Lexington.

Black is a science and math instructor at West Morgan Middle School and her husband is Anthony R. Black.

LCHS guidance night

The Lawrence County High School guidance department will host a meeting for seniors and their parents Thursday at 6 p.m. Counselors will discuss college admission guidelines and deadlines, scholarships and financial aid. College and military recruiters will also attend the meeting.

UNA deanís list

These area students have been named to the deanís list at The University of North Alabama for the 2007 summer term.

Ashley Brooke Prince, Shannon Dee Watkins, both of Anderson; Joshua Cole Abernathy, Joshua Tyler Fabacher, Mark Ross Lynn, Sammi Jo McConnell, Alicia Nicole Ridinger, Ashley Romine Smith, Christopher David Sonego, Matthew Gavin Trousdale, Katie Suann Webb and Emilee Rachel White, all of Athens; Emily Ann Matthews of Baileyton; Alan Marshall Balch, Sabrina Lynn Balch, both of Danville; William L. Ballew, Shana Dawn Crumbough, Timothy Duane Lyons II, all of Decatur; Jodi Gail Coffey, Michael Brannon Hunter, both of Hartselle; Adam Louis Bailey, Amber Holland Chamness, Tara Nicole Cooper, Tamara Winfrey Glover, all of Moulton; Cayce Dandel Cooper, Rachel Adele Reed, both of Somerville; Shann Howard Jeffreys of Town Creek; Bethany Lee Greenwood of Vinemont.

Calhoun honors

These area students have been named to the presidentís and deanís lists at Calhoun Community College for the 2007 spring term.

Presidentís list: Jamie Mosley, Marcus Wilson, both of Anderson; Patrick Adams, Daniel Hicks, Vita Schiavone, Jeffery Underwood, all of Ardmore; Ashley Avans, Roger Black, Eric Blystone, Megan Boone, Richard Calavan, Dayla Christopher, Jennifer Christopher, Manion Coffman, Andrea Donley, John Evans, Jana Gordon, Jackie Harbin, Ryan Herron, Teresa Hodge, Mary Isom, Kathleen Lechman, Jacob Mathias, Lance McLemore, Glenda Moore, Dylan Patterson, Thomas Roberts, Melinda Simpkins, Patrick Sowell, Brian Taylor, Ashley Thornton, William Zeigler, all of Athens; Kiandre Barnes of Capshaw; Cynthia Alexander, Jonathan Casteel, Jonathan Glennon, Christopher Hornbuckle, Michael Johnson, Jessica Nichols, all of Danville; Anna Baker, Jonathan Burttram, Donald Cash, Michael Conyers, William Dimitro, Douglas Dyar, Amy Earls, Bobby Ford, Rickey Garrison, Amanda Harkins, Wesley Harris, Elizabeth Howard, Elizabeth Irwin, Charles Johnson, David Lowery, William Payne, Latoya Powell, Bonnie Pridmore, Laura Sivley, Dineen Spille, Jennifer Topliss, Derek Voss, Reid Walker, all of Decatur; Whitney Angus, Shannon Daly, Alistair Hardy, Grant Harrison, Kristen Kress, Christopher Mitchell, Pamela Richards, all of Elkmont; Rachel Carroll, Bradley Drake, Frank Janek, Allison Livingston, all of Falkville; Alison Ballesteros, Nick Bates, Tyler Bates, Nicholas Benson, Vance Buchanan, Megan Caniglia, Leslie Clemons, Gary Kirby, Gilbert Maze, David Parker, Judith Parsons, James Pierce, Dorothy Richey, Samuel Smith, Donna Townson, Danny Wallace, Charleston Wilson, all of Hartselle; Heather Anderson, Jeffrey Green, James Kelley, all of Hillsboro; Kelly Bolding, James Veigl, both of Laceyís Spring; Chrystal Lopez, Jonna Smith, both of Lester; Willard Hill, Hunter Kelsoe, Joseph Peebles, Cody Simmons, Ashlee Williams, Kayla Wynn, all of Moulton; Thomas Bayne, William Smith, Lydia Tritt, all of Somerville; Kristan Abney, Tammy Evans, Holly Gardner, Jonathan Radford, Marty Shelton, all of Trinity; Terry Coker of Vinemont.

Deanís list: Morgan Pressnell of Anderson; Crystal Johnston of Ardmore; David Bowden, Kellianna Brazier, James Bridges, Marcus Campbell, James Conklin, Christopher Dye, Joel Easter, Joshua Fabbri, Eric Frogge, David Gaston, Holly Gilbert, Ellen Gooch, Kimberly Haney, Mark Harding, Stephen Hodge, Brianna Holt, Lacey Keenum, Amy Langdon, Hannah Lenox, Leigh Leverette, David Lewis, Joanna Madry, Elizabeth McLemore, Gordon McLemore, Daniel McNutt, Elizabeth Medcalf, Amanda Miller, Lauren Parker, Jerry Sawyers, Timothy Sheahan, Savannah Slocum, Timothy Smith, Luke Spann, Erin Speed, Bradley Thompson, Tonya Vallejo, Danny Vandiver, Andrew Vickers, Shevon Walden, Clinton Wilcox, Jamie York, all of Athens; Seth Austin, Rachel Balch, Donald Bentley, Willard Bruns, Jesse Carpenter, Stacia Champion, Lamar Coffey, Philip Conley, Joshua Couts, Nicholas Garner, Chelsea Gladwell, Christopher Gregory, Erica Haley, Valerie Handley, Kimberly Hughes, Kristina Hutto, Cassandra Hyche, Shana Jackson, Frederick Jefferson, Susan Jones, Kynsie Kilgo, Taylor Lawrence, Laura Ashley Legg, Georgios Lemonakis, Evan Llewellyn, Natalie Lynch, Jeremy Morris, Ronnie Nance, Carlos Perez, Jonathan Roberts, Amy Rosenblum, Teresa Satchel, Tobias Schrimer, Ami Schrimsher, Brittany Scott, Victoria Simpson, Clint Thrasher, Maria Wells, all of Decatur; Amy Beckworth, Devin Jackson, Jacqueline Phillips, Steven Phillips, Alissa Pressnell, all of Elkmont; Lacey Garrett of Eva; Kayla Carroll, Brandon LaMar, Dorothy Weaver, all of Falkville; Miriam Bynum, Jacqueline Hill, Kayla Livingston, Patrick Marcum, Amy McMurry, Joshua Newsom, Milton Ratliff, Larry Reeves, Matthew Spicer, Amanda Todd, Keri Watson, Gregory Weimar, Kayla Widener, Christopher Wilhelm, Deborah Willerton, all of Hartselle; Amber Kelly, Christina Robinson, both of Laceyís Spring; Chasity Woodard of Lester; Nicholas Barber, Blake Borden, Christopher Shaw, Chelsey Turner, all of Moulton; Melanie Dickerson, William Hodgin, Jeremy Holloway, Ashten Houser, Dale Taylor, all of Somerville; Emily Brackin, Justin Mardis, Eugenia Steward, all of Town Creek; Tyler Stephenson, Derick Thomas, Samuel Wallace, Adam Weeks, all of Trinity.

UNA graduates

These area students completed their degrees during the 2007 summer term at The University of North Alabama and will receive their diplomas in December.

Gwendolyn E. McConnell of Anderson; Chasity Lee Campbell, Marla Jeanne Breeding Dean, Ashley Renae Durham, Tamara Gregg Hilliard, April Murphy Marsh, Austin Marsh, William Harrison McCracken, Russell Arthur Mitchell, all of Athens; Mark Eugene Andrews, Christina Culberson, Mary Ann Culberson, Judy Q. Johnson, Janice B. Landers, Sandra Locke-Godbey, Rita Sharon Parcus Mitchell, Farris Brandon Rice, all of Decatur; Katharine Allfrey Bates of Elkmont; Nichole Patton Murray of Eva; Susan Annette Martin, Jeffry David Tabis, Jennifer Diane Tucker, all of Hartselle; Tara D. Martin of Hatton; Zachary Allen Campbell of Leser; Joshua Phillip McGuire of Mount Hope; Shan Howard Jeffreys, Leigh Ann Smith, both of Town Creek.

Save $84.50 a year off our newsstand price:
Subscribe today for only 38 cents a day!

Leave feedback
on this or

Email This Page