News from the Tennessee Valley State, Local and National news

Lawrence taps 32 students for Youth Leadership

MOULTON — The Lawrence County Chamber of Commerce chose 32 students from seven high schools to participate in the chamber's 2007-08 Youth Leadership Class.

The nine-month program helps students learn about team building, leadership and politics, how to network with student leaders from across Lawrence County, and how to work with community leaders, said chamber Executive Director Vicki Morese.

The number of students selected is based on the percentage of applications that meet the following qualifications:

? An overall "C" average;

? A complete application with an emphasis on potential leadership qualities, essay, school and community activity participation;

? A minimum of two references — one from a school representative and one from someone outside the school;

The following students were selected for the 2007-08 Youth Leadership Class:

East Lawrence High School: Kayla Jones and Erin McCollom.

Hatton High School, Morgan Peebles, Audra Smith, Drew Smith and Stormie Vess.

Lawrence County Christian, Landon Dutton and Devin Gardner.

Lawrence County High School, Olivia Coffey, Amber Dunlap, Autumn Dyer, Tyrie Fletcher, John Michael Hill, Jim Hultman, Heather Key, Makenna Lang, William McWhorter, Jonathan Naylor, Haley Nichols, Jordan Oliver, Alex Smith, Ashton Smith, Ari Stephenson, Bekah Stockton, Kassie Terry and Summer Wilkerson.

Mount Hope High School, Chelsea Fike and Pam Tippett.

R.A. Hubbard, Kenyetta Aldridge and Jasmine Smith.

Speake, Emily Cummings and Bertha Priebe.

Nancy Glasscock

Save $84.50 a year off our newsstand price:
Subscribe today for only 38 cents a day!

Leave feedback
on this or

Email This Page