News from the Tennessee Valley State, Local and National news

Walraven is Decatur High homecoming queen

By Bayne Hughes · 340-2432

Senior Anna Walraven will reign as queen this week of Decatur High School’s 2007 homecoming.

The crowning of Walraven is at halftime of the Red Raiders’ homecoming game against West Point High School. She is the daughter of Chip and Kaye Walraven.

Members of the homecoming court:

Senior attendants — Taylor Allen, daughter of Eddie and Barbie Allen; Brittney Long, daughter of Brad Long and Jennifer Long; Abi Lott, daughter of Randy and Lee Lott; Megan Schmidt, daughter of Dr. Allen and Hope Schmidt; Me’osha Simpson, daughter of Russell Bates and Felecia Simpson; Mistye Torain, daughter of Charles Torain and Francelia Torain.

Junior attendants — Whitney Fletcher, daughter of Lawson and Clara Fletcher; Shelton Godwin, daughter of John and Amy Godwin; and Whitney Johnston, daughter of Chris and Cynthia Johnston.

Sophomore attendants — Paris Owens, daughter of Charles and Regina Owens; and Carlie Parker, daughter of Denny Parker and Anna Maxey.

Freshmen attendants — Jada Billings, daughter of Chris Billings and Allison Billings; and Jessica Orr, daughter of John Ash and Sharon Ash.

Members of the homecoming committee are Meg Adams and Avni Doshi, chairwomen; Georgia Gamble, co-chair; Burgoyne Fite and Emily Suggs, attendants; Sally Adams and Tommy McRae, publicity; Kate Dougherty, assembly; Maggie Gray, dance; Sarah Beth Henderson and Catherine Picou; Amelia Koenig and Constance Moore, wall and door decorations; Earl Ellis and Kathleen Davis, speaker hospitality; T-shirts, Kat Dougherty and Caroline Woller; and Sara Cowick and Eliza Fite, award ribbons.


Decatur High homecoming traditions:

  • The bonfire is Thursday at 7 p.m. near field house, behind the school.

  • Friday is Red and Black Day. Students are encouraged to wear the school colors. The class with the highest percentage of members wearing homecoming T-shirts will win breakfast.

  • The homecoming assembly is Friday at 10 a.m. Guest speakers will be: Class of 1958, Syble Shelton Murphy; 1968, Bobby Joe Pride; 1978, M.M. McKenzie Tweedy; 1988, Hal Sanders; and 1998, Carlton and Jennie-Marie McMasters.

  • The homecoming court will be introduced at the assembly. Door decoration contest winners will also be announced.

  • The homecoming parade is at 3:30 p.m. on Friday. It begins on Second Avenue, goes to Lee Street and then to Bank Street before ending at the Old State Bank. Winners of the float contest will be announced at the parade and again at the game.

    Save $84.50 a year off our newsstand price:
    Subscribe today for only 38 cents a day!

  • Leave feedback
    on this or

    Email This Page