News from the Tennessee Valley State, Local and National news

Fiddling winners

ATHENS — This completes the list of winners in the Tennessee Valley Old Time Fiddlers Convention, held Friday and Saturday at Athens State University. Winners are in order, first place to fifth.

Winners in other categories were published Sunday.

Senior fiddler: Roy Crawford, Cullman; Chuck Reeves, Oakman; Wayne Jerrolds, Savannah, Tenn.; Buddy Ratcliff, Elliottville, Ky.; Tom Fonville, Flint, Texas.

Classic old-time fiddler: Charlie Hunter, Birmingham; Jim Cauthen, Birmingham; Skip Ashby, Marshall, Va.; Leo McDermott, Birmingham; Adam Purvis, Panama City, Fla.

Bluegrass band: Limestone Creek, Athens; Timberline
Drive, Owensboro, Ky.; Southern Blend, Meridian, Miss.; The Tennessee Valley Express, Hazel Green; Spur of the Moment, Eagleville, Tenn.

Junior fiddler: Joel Whittinghill, Bowling Green, Ky. ; Johnny R. Watts, Lineville; Sabrina Barton, Dora; Kyra Key, Atlanta; Rachel J. Allison, Gordo.

Old-time band: Spring Creek, Lyles, Tenn.; Flying Jenny, Birmingham; The Buckners, Birmingham; Thrown Together, Lyles, Tenn.; Kudzu String Band, Marion.

Buck dancing (15 & under): Kelsey Jones, Lyles, Tenn.; Cara DiGiovanni, Greenbrier, Tenn.; Zach Gean, Meridianville; Emily Norman, Athens; Brianne Hargrove, Athens.

Buck dancing (16 & over): Jay Bland, Kennesaw, Ga.; Dudley Richard, Ranice, Tenn.; Chris Stewart, Murfreesboro, Tenn.; Justin Frazor, Smyrna, Tenn.; Devon Stewart, Lebanon, Tenn.

Fiddle Champion: Joel Whittinghill, Bowling Green, Ky.

Save $84.50 a year off our newsstand price:
Subscribe today for only 38 cents a day!

Leave feedback
on this or

Email This Page