News from the Tennessee Valley State, Local and National news

37 roads put on list for paving in Morgan

By Sheryl Marsh 340-2437

Morgan County Commissioners placed 37 roads on a list that have either been paved or are in line for touchups or new surfaces this year.

Commissioners Jeff Clark, Ken Livingston, Kevin Murphy and Stacy George provided lists of the roads they've worked on and plan for work.

George said his shop crew has worked on 13 roads in District 4 and will chip-seal two more this year. He said his employees fully paved most of the roads.

Livingston said he will pave six in District 2.

"They'll all be full paving jobs," said Livingston last week. "We replaced some culverts, and we'll start chip-sealing next week, and after that we'll asphalt."

The paving will cost $60,000 per mile, Livingston said.

District 1 Commissioner Clark said he will fully pave three roads in his district.

"We'll do those three in their entirety," said Clark. "We're trying to prioritize the ones with the most needs."

Murphy plans to work on 13 roads in District 3.

Livingston said his crew will also stripe roads with the new machine that he, George and Murphy purchased.

Each year the commissioners plan specific road projects, but they work on roads all year.

Morgan County paving

District 1 (Clark)

  • Minor Road.

  • Russell Road.

  • Mesa Verde Road.

    District 2 (Livingston)

  • Neel School Road.

  • Bethel Road.

  • Old Six-Mile Road.

  • South Old Six Mile Road.

  • Lyle Circle.

  • Nelson Hollow Road.

    District 3 (Murphy)

  • Byrd Road.

  • Sammy Bryant Road.

  • Hampton Road.

  • Holladay Road.

  • Moses Road.

  • Old Gin Road.

  • Stackyard Road

  • Morgan County 55 West from Alabama 157 to Morgan County 41 (Danville Road).

  • Pentecost Road.

  • Gum Pond Road.

  • Key Turney Road.

  • Nat Key Road.

  • Adams Road.

    District 4 (George)

    These roads have been either paved or partially paved:

  • Six-Mile Creek Road.

  • Six-Mile Road.

  • South Old Six-Mile Road.

  • Densmore Road.

  • Hulaco Road.

  • Maples Road.

  • Wilson Road.

  • Parks Chapel Road.

  • N.E. Fields Road.

  • Pine Ridge Road.

  • Rescue Road.

  • Sunnyside Park Road.

  • Sharps Ford Road.

    Roads to be chip-sealed:

  • Foreman Bottom Road.

  • Griffin Road.

    Morgan County Commissioners

    Save $84.50 a year off our newsstand price:
    Subscribe today for only 38 cents a day!

  • Leave feedback
    on this or

    Email This Page