News from the Tennessee Valley State, Local and National news

20 seek Morgan corrections post

By Sheryl Marsh · 340-2437

Twenty people applied to become director of Morgan County’s community corrections program.

The applicants are from as far away as Missouri and as near as Decatur, Moulton and Athens.

The Morgan County Community Corrections and Court Services Commission plans to meet Friday to screen the applications and perhaps decide on a time to interview applicants.

Human Resources Director Terry Nacarrato advertised the position, which ex-Director Alison Nix vacated in September under pressure.

Nix, of Lawrence County, resigned after The Daily investigated her travel records and found discrepancies. After she could not prove that she made out-of-town trips for which she claimed mileage reimbursements, Nix resigned. The commission ordered a reduction of $504 from her final paycheck for four of six trips that were disputed.

Nacarrato gave the applications to Circuit Judge Steve Haddock, who is vice chairman of the commission. Nacarrato said the commission asked him to participate in the process and he has done his portion because the position is not under the county’s merit system.

If the job were under the merit system, Nacarrato would have screened the applicants and recommended the top five to the commission.

The new director will double as head of community corrections and an administrator for the drug court component.

Nacarrato revised the job description. It requires a bachelor’s degree in criminal justice, court administration, public administration or business administration, or a closely related field, and one year of professional case management or rehabilitative work with offenders.

The pay range is $50,000 to $56,000.

The applicants

  • Alisha Kay Owens, Athens.

  • Brian Ruble, Athens.

  • William Turner, Hillsboro.

  • Thomas Pettus III, Moulton.

  • Derryl Lynn Shimer, Rogersville.

  • Gail Fisch, Leadwood, Mo.

  • Allison Eugene Hutchinson, Decatur.

  • Anita Flowers, Decatur.

  • Angela Kane, Brownsboro.

  • Kesha Ervin, Toney.

  • Carla Kirkham, Danville.

  • Dorothy Maory, Decatur.

  • Frank Roberts III, Decatur.

  • Kimberley Dawn Thurston, Hartselle.

  • Melanie Donaldson, Moulton.

  • Tamatha Johnson, Decatur.

  • Morris Whittington, Decatur.

  • Darryl Williams, Florence.

  • Trevia Echols Bell, Muscle Shoals.

  • Rick Buckelew, Hartselle.

    Save $84.50 a year off our newsstand price:
    Subscribe today for only 38 cents a day!

  • Leave feedback
    on this or

    Email This Page