News from the Tennessee Valley Sports

Area trio named to All-Star Football Classic

From Staff Reports

MONTGOMERY — Area high school football standouts Caleb Thomas of Decatur, Rolando McClain of Decatur and Alfred McCullough of Athens were named to the Alabama roster for the 20th annual Alabama-Mississippi All-Star Football Classic on June 2 in Mobile.

The roster will include 37 players, and Prattville's Bill Clark will serve as head coach. His six-man staff includes Athens head coach Allen Creasy. Clark guided Prattville to the Class 6A state football championship, while Creasy's Golden Eagles won the 5A title.

Thomas played offensive line for Decatur and has signed with UAB. McCullough was a defensive line standout for Athens and has signed with Alabama.

In addition to Creasy, the coaching staff will include Stacy Luker of Sweet Water, Danny Powell of Leroy, Ike Grant of LaFayette, Phil Isom of Guntersville and John Grass of Spain Park. Billy Odom is the administrative coach.

The Alabama roster includes:

  • Quarterbacks: Larry Smith (Prattville) and Jamie Hampton (Cedar Bluff).

  • Running backs: Joseph Wilson (Opelika), Terrell Edwards (UMS-Wright), Stanley Jones (Houston Academy) and Jerrel Jernigan (Eufaula).

  • Wide receivers: Ralph Spry (Auburn), Justin Diliberto (Spain Park), Quindarius Carr (Huntsville), Brandon Gibson (UMS-Wright) and Marquis Maze (Tarrant).

  • Kicker/punter: Graham Sutter of St. James.

  • Offensive linemen: Thomas Gray (Vestavia Hills), William Vlachos (Mountain Brook), Patrick Crump (Hoover), Nick Fairley (Williamson), Taz Tillery (Russellville), Jared Cooper (W.S. Neal) and Thomas.

  • Defensive backs: William Spight (Jeff Davis), Ricardo Bates (Prattville), Cameron O'Neal (Citronelle), Ryan Williams (B.C Rain), Rashad Graham (Russellville) and Zach Smith (Susan Moore).

  • Defensive linemen: Damario Ambrose (Davidson), Nick Gentry (Prattville), Josh Chapman (Hoover), Kerry Murphy (Hoover) and McCullough.

  • Defensive ends/linebackers: Kenneth Dorsey (Homewood), Josh Lewis (Tuscaloosa County), Terrance Thomas (Eufaula), Eltora Freeman (Benjamin Russell), Chavis Williams (Dora), Quintine Thomas (Pike County) and McClain.

    Save $84.50 a year off our newsstand price:
    Subscribe today for only 38 cents a day!

  • Leave feedback
    on this or

    Email This Page