News from the Tennessee Valley Sports

Lawrence Co., Decatur, Brewer win county titles

From staff reports

Lawrence County High swept both divisions of the Lawrence County cross country championships, while Decatur took the Morgan County girls title and Brewer won the boys championship.

Those championships were decided as part of the Northwest Alabama cross country meet Thursday at Oakville Indian Mounds Park.

Morgan County

In the girls division, Decatur beat Falkville for the team title. Decatur's Sally Adams won the individual championship, and the Lady Red Raiders' Meg Adams was second. Falkville's Krystal Gibbs was third, and Brewer's Bree Watkins placed fourth.

Falkville's Emily Robbins finished fifth, followed by two teammates — Crystal Carver in sixth and Celese Sharbutt in seventh.

Decatur's Caroline Keenum was eighth.

In the boys division, Brewer won the title as Andy Sanford finished second, Travis Holloman third and Nathan Hamilton sixth.

Falkville's Justin Blanchard took the individual crown, while teammate Cory Hill was seventh. Decatur's Samuel Hand was fourth, and Alec Rawlings finished fifth. Decatur Heritage's Jake Cook was eighth.

In the team standings, Decatur was second, and Decatur Heritage placed third.

Lawrence County

In the girls division, Lawrence County edged East Lawrence for the crown in the team standings, while the Lady Red Devils' Ari Stephenson won the individual title in 19:58.09. Three teammates followed her — Victoria Draper in second place, Lyndsie Warren in third, and Kerri Letson in fourth. Hatton's Courtney Rutherford was fifth, and East Lawrence's Megan Kelley was sixth.

Lawrence County won the boys team title by taking the top seven spots in the race.

Collins Montgomery took first individually, followed by Logan Underwood, C.J. Woodham, William McWorther, Wormy Hood, Jonathan Naylor and Michael Brooks.

Hatton's Devin Jackson placed eighth.

In the team standings, Hatton was second, while Speake was third and East Lawrence fourth.

Cross country county championships

Lawrence County

  • Boys team winner:Lawrence County.

  • Boys individual winner:Collins Montgomery, Lawrence County, 17:25.80.

  • Girls team winner: Lawrence County.

  • Girls individual winner: Ari Stephenson, Lawrence County, 19:58.09.

    Morgan County

    n Boys team winner:Brewer.

  • Boys individual winner:Justin Blanchard, Falkville, 17:08.45.

  • Girls team winner: Decatur.

  • Girls individual winner: Sally Adams, Decatur, 19:41.34.

    Save $84.50 a year off our newsstand price:
    Subscribe today for only 38 cents a day!

  • Leave feedback
    on this or

    Email This Page